The good news is that I’ve learned that being patient can have its benefits. By waiting around for prices to go down, I was able to purchase the Villager Amiibo for under $30.00 this last week, and many other Amiibos are listed around that price. So if you’re interested in collecting the Amiibos, here are some tips that I’ve composed for you:

Collect the common ones.

Amiibos like Link, Mario, and Luigi can be found almost anywhere, and it’s never a bad time to scoop these up first. That way you can try out the Amiibos on your video games and decide for yourself whether or not you want to collect more.

Collect your favorites first.

Aim for the ones you care the most for. That way in case you don’t acquire all of them, you’ll at least have your favorites to play with.

Do not, and I mean do not buy any Amiibo priced over $40.00.

If you buy Amiibos over that amount, the scalpers win. The only Amiibo I would consider paying that much for is Gold Mario, and even then I wouldn’t. If the scalpers can’t sell their product for a ridiculously high price, they’ll have no choice but lower the price, and that’s when you can make your move. I haven’t bought one for over $30.00 yet; after all, they’re just toys in the end.

Be patient.

The Amiibo craze is real, but it’s a lot of fun. I’ve personally enjoyed trying to collect them all, and they’re a lot of fun to use on video games like Super Smash Bros. For more on Amiibos, visit Nintendo.com.

The Amiibo Sensation  Tips on Collecting - 32The Amiibo Sensation  Tips on Collecting - 52